July 4th - 8th

GKSS Match Cup Sweden

GKSS Match Cup Sweden 2018

Host venue

Marstrand, Sweden

Taking it back to the beginning – the only event to feature in every Word Match Racing Tour season, Match Cup Sweden will turn the island of Marstrand into a match racing haven for it’s 25th anniversary year as the home of European match racing. The unpredictable conditions, a guaranteed jaw-dropping spectator turn out and racing just inches from the island’s crowd-lined rocks make this competition one of the most sought after invitations on the WMRT calendar, so you can expect to see the same very best match racing talent battling for their place at this year’s event as we have done over the past 24 years.

Attracting over 100,000 visitors to Gothenburg’s archipelago, this event is a hit not only with sailors but has asserted itself on the city’s social calendar as well. There will be plenty of action on and as well as on the water, so stay tuned for more details on what promises to be an anniversary edition not to be missed.

GKSS Match Cup Sweden
Women’s Trophy

GKSS Relaunch Women’s Match Cup Competition


Read more


Match Cup Sweden Hall of Fame

Over the last quarter-century the event has seen it’s share of World Champions, America’s Cup legends and Olympic heroes all lift the trophy. Some of these are lucky enough to have been inducted to the Match Cup Sweden Hall of Fame where their name and their legacy can live on.

Magnus Holmberg

Peter Gilmour

Pelle Petterson

Peter Klock

Björn Hansen

Past winners

1994 – Peter Gilmour (AUS)
1995 – Peter Gilmour (AUS)
1996 – Bertrand Pacé (FRA)
1997 – Peter Gilmour (AUS)
1998 – Peter Gilmour (AUS)
1999 – Peter Gilmour (AUS)
2000 – Dean Barker (NZL)
2001 – Russell Coutts (NZL)
2002 – Dean Barker (NZL)
2003 – Chris Law (GBR)
2004 – Russell Coutts (NZL)
2005 – Peter Gilmour (AUS)
2006 – n/a
2007 – Björn Hansen (SWE)
2008 – Mattias Rahm (SWE)
2009 – Peter Gilmour (AUS)
2010 – Ben Ainslie (GBR)
2011 – Ian Williams (GBR)
2012 – Björn Hansen (SWE)
2013 – Björn Hansen (SWE)
2014 – Björn Hansen (SWE)
2015 – Björn Hansen (SWE)
2016 – Phil Robertson (NZL)
2017 – Phil Robertson (NZL)



Teams will be split to 2 groups of 6 boats for the fleet race Qualifying Stage. At the end of the Qualifying Stage, the top 3 teams will proceed directly to the Quarter Final Stage, with the bottom 3 from each group battling in the Sail-Off.


Teams from each group race in knockout competition to fill the remaining 2 Quarter Final Stage positions.


From this point, teams race in knockout style competition, progressing from Quarter Final, to Semi Final, and to either Final or Petit Final stages, as they battle to become the event champion.

Course Layout

Tour Card Skippers

Torvar Mirsky (Mirsky Racing Team)

Ian Williams (GAC Pindar)

Taylor Canfield (US One Sailing Team)

Yann Guichard (Spindrift Racing)

Harry Price (Down Under Racing)

Qualifying Teams

Måns Holmberg (Gothenburg Racing Team)

Jonas Warrer (Warrer Racing)

Markus Edegran (Team Torrent)

Joachim Aschenbrenner (ART Sailing)

Wild Card Invites

Nicklas Dackhammar (Essiq Racing Team)

Johnie Berntsson (Berntsson Sailing Team)

Sam Gilmour (Neptune Racing)