Long Beach, CA 21 April 2024 — Long Beach’s champagne conditions and superior racing by eight world class skippers over three days ended with Scotty Dickson claiming his 14th Ficker Cup over 24 years!

Scotty Dickson originally from New Zealand went 12 and 2 in the Double Round Robin dropping only one match in the semifinals against Australia’s Cole Tapper. Dickson went on to sweep the finals against another New Zealand skipper, Megan Thomson.

Pictured from left to right, top row: Scott Dixon, Commodore LBYC; Scotty Dickson (USA); Deon McDonald, daughter of Bill Ficker; Steve Meyer, Ficker Cup Chair; Tony Mansour, Congressional Cup Chair. Bottom row: Megan Thomson (NZL) and Cole Tapper (AUS). Photo: Ian Roman/WMRT

Skipper Scotty Dickson noted, “it was very tough conditions with breeze on.  Any of the semi final teams could have won the event today. All sailed incredibly well. By the time we got to the final my team was sailing superb. I’ve won this event multiple times but take nothing for granted. Very proud of the team!”

Ficker Cup Chair Steve Meyer concluded, “It’s been a fantastic three days of racing. Optimal weather, flawless race committee work, superior umpiring and competitive racing.”

Today’s finals marked the end of a thrilling weekend for Long Beach, with the excitement of Ficker Cup yacht racing punctuated by the distant zoom of Indy Cars at the 49th Long Beach Grand Prix, which another Scott Dixon, veteran driver and fellow Kiwi took the checkered flag for his second career victory!

Scotty Dickson leads Thomson into the finish for the 2024 Ficker Cup win. Photo: Cameron MacLaren / LBYC
Scotty Dickson and his Dickson Racing Team (from left to right Scotty Dickson, Erik Berzins, Garrett Brown, Steve Flam, Zachary Hanna, Shane Young), winners of the 2024 Ficker Cup.

It’s been a very busy event season in Long Beach and now the spotlight turns to the 59th Congressional Cup also hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club which runs from Wednesday April 24th through Sunday April 28th.  The top three ranking Ficker Cup skippers, Scotty Dickson, Megan Thomson and Cole Tapper have qualified and move on to the Congressional Cup.

Spectators can watch the races live  free from Belmont Veterans Memorial Pier at 39th Place & E. Ocean in Long Beach starting daily at 11:30AM and online at http://www.thecongressionalcup.com.


2024 Ficker Cup Final Placement:

  1. 1. USA Scotty Dickson, Erik Berzins, Garrett Brown, Steve Flam, Zachary Hanna, Shane Young
    2. NZL Megan Thomson, Robert McCutcheon, Sebastian Olsen, Matias Rossing, Bastian Sorensen, Thor Malthe Andersen
    3. AUS Cole Tapper, Jordan Reece, George Richardson, Hamish Vass, Charlotte Carmichael, Max Brennan, Nathan Gulliksen
    4. USA Dave Hood, Christopher Main,Steven Natvig,William Tiller, Nick Blackman, Chris Steele
    5. CAN Peter Wickwire, Emily Merry, Ben Maloney, Evan Burns, Devan Dube, Daniel MacMillan
    6. FRA Aurélien Pierroz, Sebastien Riot, Guillou Chatonnier, Nicolas Bouchet, Hippolyte Machetti, Théo Bore
    7. USA Nicole Breault, Allie Blecher, Doug McLean, Irina Beloborodova, Lionel Crear, Alfonso Garcia Bringas, Cormac Murphy
    8. NZL Celia Willison, Ruby Scholten, Clare Costanzo, Rosie Rowell, Serena Woodall, Josi Andres, Alison Kent

Established in 1929, Long Beach Yacht Club is recognized as a leading organization in the international yachting community for its commitment to excellence in yacht racing and innovation in race management. In addition to hosting the Congressional Cup and numerous other local, national and international yachting events, the Club’s member families enjoy a year-round calendar of social, yachting and junior activities at its beautiful clubhouse on the shore of Alamitos Bay.

Founded in 2000, the World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) promotes the sport of match racing around the world and is the longest running global professional series in the sport of sailing. The WMRT is awarded ‘Special Event’ status by the sport’s world governing body – World Sailing – and the winner of the WMRT each year is crowned World Sailing Match Racing World Champion. Since 2000, the World Match Racing Tour and its events have awarded over USD24million in prize money to sailors which has helped to contribute to the career pathway of many of today’s professional sailors. www.wmrt.com