The NJK Open Spring Cup, a Match Race organised by the NJK Sailing Centre in Finland, was the official stage 5 of the World Match Racing Tour’s 2023 season.

Day 1 at the Spring Cup started with light winds and towards midday they changed to jib as the wind picked up. The Leading skippers on Day 1 were Bjorn Hansen, Mati Sepp and Jon Eriksson. Day 2 again started with light winds and then the wind picked up later on in the afternoon. The Round Robin’s we’re completed on Day 2 with Hansen securing 10 wins and Sepp securing 9/ 10 wins. Knip, Tallberg and Eriksson all scored 7/10 wins. Björn Hansen (SWE) and his Team win the NJK Open Spring Cup in Finland. Final standings below:

Bjorn Hansen (SWE) – Photo by Yaroslav Yaryshev
Bjorn Hansen (SWE) – Photo by Yaroslav Yaryshev
Mati Sepp (EST) Clean Energy Sailing Team – Photo by Yaroslav Yaryshev


Overall standings: 

1. Björn Hansen (SWE)
2. Mati Sepp (EST)
3. Georg Tallberg (FIN)
4. Jon Eriksson (FIN)
5. Matias Knip (FIN)
6. Marinella Laaksonen (FIN)
7. Mikke Stelander (FIN)
8. Niklas Saxen (FIN)
9. Alec Fisichella (USA)
10. Michal Gryglewski (POL)
11. Niki Blässar (FIN)


Founded in 2000, the World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) promotes the sport of match racing around the world and is the longest running global professional series in the sport of sailing. The WMRT is awarded ‘Special Event’ status by the sport’s world governing body – World Sailing – and the winner of the WMRT each year is crowned World Sailing Match Racing World Champion. Previous champions include Sir Ben Ainslie (GBR), Taylor Canfield (USA), Peter Gilmour (AUS), Magnus Holmberg (SWE), Peter Holmberg (ISV), Adam Minoprio (NZL), Torvar Mirsky (AUS), Bertrand Pace (FRA), Jesper Radich (DEN), Phil Robertson (NZL) and Ian Williams (GBR). Since 2000, the World Match Racing Tour and its events have awarded over USD23million in prize money to sailors which has helped to contribute to the career pathway of many of today’s professional sailors.